Sagittarius, The Milky Way, Flickr and My Photography

Here’s a bit of irony for you. Anyone who’s read my blog regularly, would realise I don’t often include photos with my posts. This is mainly due to time constraints. It’s like, I just want to write this and get it out there. I can’t be bothered putting up an accompanying photo. Okay, so it’s a bit of laziness, too! If the post is specifically about a photo or an image, I’ll obviously included it but in general it’s been about the writing, and ideas, etc. Now, the irony is I actually love photography!

Years ago I let my Flickr account gather weeds. It had some slightly above average (IMHO) pics in it. They are still there. Recently I’ve been getting back into trying to up my mediocre photography skills by actually using my 7-year-old Nikon D60 properly. With some success. I bought the DSLR because I wanted to take shots of the night sky. There’s a great Digital Photography School page on Facebook which has some very useful tips and has been encouraging me to get back out there with the gear.

Sagittarius in the Milky Way

Milky Way toward Sagittarius. Nikon D60, 18.3mm, 15 Sec, F/4, ISO Hi 3200. Click the image to see the far better version on my Flickr page.

Here is a condensed version of a shot I took the other night of part of the Milky Way directly over my house. It’s looking in the direction of Sagittarius which is toward the centre of our home galaxy. Just imagine this awesomeness: The Milky Way is the largest visible structure in the sky and we’re in it.

Anyway, I hope to get more practice in and I’ll be putting the less embarrassing attempts at pic-taking on my Flickr page. Most photos will go up there without fanfare but if any have an interesting story or background I might write a post about it.

To the right in the widget bar is a link to more of my photos if you’re interested. Don’t expect too much in the way of quality or skill just yet. Looking at some of the Milky Way photos on Flickr, I’ve got a long way to go!

4 thoughts on “Sagittarius, The Milky Way, Flickr and My Photography

  1. ericjbaker

    You’ve got a Milky Way down there in Australia too? Weird!

    I can’t actually see the Milky Way around here thanks to living halfway between New York and Philadelphia. I used to visit the mountains in NY state quite often, though, where the night sky is clear enough to see satellites flying over. It’s been a while.

    Reply

What do you think?

