Songs That Grabbed Me – 5 Seconds of Summer, She Looks So Perfect

Typically in this series I’ve talked about songs that have stuck with me over the years for various reasons. Today will be a little different. It’s a very recent song and it’s by my daughter’s favourite band. Yes, it’s a teeny bopper song. There. I said it. 44 year old dude likes a teeny bopper song.

I was in and out a couple of months ago, cutting and laying our new floating floor when I heard a song that seemed to go on forever before realising she had the thing on repeat. A particular lyric caught my attention. Underwear. Specifically, American Apparel underwear. But what was more interesting was the full line, sung by a bunch of males.

You looked so perfect standing there,
in my American Apparel underwear.

Assuming the guys were singing about a girl and that a set of male underwear distinctly lacks a top component… well anyway, I decided I should really continue cutting this floor board to size.

But she kept playing the song on repeat for the whole day and I didn’t mind. It was a really catchy tune! Don’t judge me.

But I enjoyed the lyrics. Not particularly deep but succinct teen boy poetry with some tight catchy rhymes.

So, on this day, the 25th of April, 2014, I, Richard Leonard, declare that the song “She Looks So Perfect” by Aussie boy band, 5 Seconds of Summer, has grabbed me. Who knows, unlike the others this may not last.

Here’s the vid. Don’t tell me this isn’t catchy!

Here, have some lyrics (from this place).

Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey

Simmer down, simmer down
They say we’re too young now to amount to anything else
But look around
We work too damn hard for this just to give it up now
If you don’t swim, you’ll drown
But don’t move, honey

You look so perfect standing there
In my American Apparel underwear
And I know now, that I’m so down
Your lipstick stain is a work of art
I got your name tattooed in an arrow heart
And I know now, that I’m so down

Hey, hey!
Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey

Let’s get out, let’s get out
‘Cause this deadbeat town’s only here just to keep us down
While I was out, I found myself alone just thinking
If I showed up with a plane ticket
And a shiny diamond ring with your name on it
Would you wanna run away too?
‘Cause all I really want is you

You look so perfect standing there
In my American Apparel underwear
And I know now, that I’m so down
I made a mixtape straight out of ’94
I’ve got your ripped skinny jeans lying on the floor
And I know now, that I’m so down

Hey, hey!
Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey

You look so perfect standing there
In my American Apparel underwear
And I know now, that I’m so down
Your lipstick stain is a work of art
I got your name tattooed in an arrow heart
And I know now, that I’m so down

Hey, hey!
Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey
Hey, hey, hey, hey

You look so perfect standing there
In my American Apparel underwear
And I know now, that I’m so down (hey)
Your lipstick stain is a work of art (hey, hey)
I got your name tattooed in an arrow heart (hey, hey)
And I know now, that I’m so down (hey, hey)

Hey

One thought on “Songs That Grabbed Me – 5 Seconds of Summer, She Looks So Perfect

What do you think?

