Review: Blood in the Past by Jordanna East

The following is the review I wrote for the book Blood in the Past by Jordanna East (Amazon link).

BloodInThePast-cover“Blood in the Past by Jordanna East is the prelude to a psychological thriller series, centred around three serial killers. This book introduces the three killers and touches on what makes them tick.

Jillian is a university student with a psychology major and falls for a cop who investigates the mugging of she and her flatmate. They embark on a steamy affair until…

Lyla finds her mother dead and believes she killed herself. She blames her father…

Jason’s father died trying to rescue a colleague trapped in a house fire…

Certainly well written and edited, this book draws the reader in with its dark themes and internal conflict gnawing at each of the killers’ minds as they battle their own reasons and desires for settling scores and satisfying perceived needs.

I felt the situations the three people find themselves in, and the conclusions they arrive at a little convenient. Two people might have been believable but three serial killers born of the events presented, probably approached, if not exceeded the bounds of credibility.  But that’s what you’d expect in the genre so I’m being picky. Nevertheless, and despite the book not quite giving equal exposure to all three killers, each did have their own reasons for beginning a killing spree. Lyla was arguably the most developed character and the one I found myself the most interested in. The story does make the reader wonder how they each continue on that path. I am interested to know what drives them to continue rather than stop at the first. A gripping prequel to the greater series.”

5 thoughts on “Review: Blood in the Past by Jordanna East

  1. journeyofjordannaeast

    I just wanted to thank you, Richard, for reviewing my novella! I’d also like to invite you to visit my page and enter to receive an ARC of Blood in the Paint, the full-length follow-up to Blood in the Past. If you’re interested, stop by http://jordannaeast.com/my-books/ and fill out the form at the bottom. Thank you again for the favorable review and I wish you all the best in the new year! Xoxo

    ~Jordanna~

    Reply
  2. marymtf

    Three serial killers does sound a lot, which is probably why one of the characters was more fully developed. You wonder what makes a killer continue on that path. From what I’ve read (not experienced 🙂 ) I’d say it could be just like any other drug, in this case what gets a person hooked is the exhilarating feeling power over life and death. And of course there’s the thrill of getting away with it.

    Reply
    1. Richard Leonard Post author

      I think you might be right. From what I’ve read (not experienced) too! 😉 Although I’d imagine it’s the power more than the thrill of getting away with it because you would never really know if you had. There would be the constant anxiety associated with maybe possibly the police have found you out and that next knock on the door could be them. Maybe that’s a buzz for some people, I don’t know.

      Reply

What do you think?

