Songs That Grabbed Me – Hunters & Collectors, Throw Your Arms Around Me

I’ve loved this song since the day I first heard it. The beautiful haunting lyrics written by Hunters & Collectors lead singer Mark Seymour in the mid-1980’s Human Frailty album, apparently are about a one night stand. Hmm. I completely missed that when I was 15.

I always saw the song from the point of view of a person deeply in love but had not dared taking the relationship further than friendship until he realises he may never get another chance. The verses describe the fantasies he confesses when he realises he may never see her again. Perhaps he’s going off to war or a permanent post overseas or some other event resulting in their separation. He wants to go all the way with her before he loses the opportunity.

Admittedly I struggle to see the one night stand in this song. It seems to me that he has known her for some time. Maybe I misinterpreted the song because I spend a good part of those years not daring to take a relationship further than friendship…

Anyway, Hunters & Collectors recorded several versions of this song, my favourite is the slower version opening with bongo drums on their Collected Works anthology. But here is Eddie Vedder from Pearl Jam with the original writer, Mark Seymour playing it live in all its awesomeness.

in fact Eddie and Neil Finn from Crowded House recorded another great acoustic of this which will appear on the up coming H&C tribute album Crucible: the Songs of Hunters & Collectors, available on 27 September. Have a listen. (Warning: song link may disappear any time without notice)

Nice work by one of Australia’s great song writers, Mark Seymour. Enjoy!

I will come for you at night time
I will raise you from your sleep
I will kiss you in four places
As I go running along your street
I will squeeze the life out of you
You will make me laugh and make me cry
And we will never forget it
You will make me call your name
And I’ll shout it to the blue summer sky
And we may never meet again
So shed your skin and let’s get started
And you will throw your arms around me
Yeah, you will throw your arms around me
I dreamed of you at night time
And I watched you in your sleep
I met you in high places
I touched your head and touched your feet
So if you disappear out of view
You know I will never say goodbye
And though I try to forget it
You will make me call your name
And I’ll shout it to the blue summer sky…
And we may never meet again…
So shed your skin and let’s get started
And you will throw your arms around me
Yeah, you will throw your arms around me
Oh… yeah…
Ohhh yeah…
You will throw your arms around me…
Yeah, you will throw your arms around me…

2 thoughts on “Songs That Grabbed Me – Hunters & Collectors, Throw Your Arms Around Me

What do you think?

